Beyoncé 101

I’ve heard of a lot of interesting classes being offered in colleges across the country. In college you can study almost anything at all you can imagine, at your expense of course. So when I saw in a recent news article that Rutgers University was offering a class called “Politicizing Beyoncé” I shouldn’t have been surprised.

Mic

Rutgers University now offers “Politicizing Beyonce”

Apparently the course focuses on race, gender, and sexuality in America through Beyoncé’s music. The professor of the course, Kevin Allred, is a doctoral student and lecturer in the college’s Department of Women and Gender Studies.  He believes that through her music, Beyoncé is creating a “grand narrative around her life, her career, and her persona.”

I’ll be honest, I know very little about Beyoncé. I know she’s an amazing singer and I’m sure a very fascinating person, but I find it hard to believe that studying the lyrics to her songs will position you favorably in today’s market place. But who knows, I could be completely wrong here.

I think it’s easy for students to forget sometimes that they are paying for these classes.  When you’re presented with hundreds of class options and a little bit of flexibility in your schedule it’s pretty easy to think “yeah I’ve got an open slot… Beyoncé 101 sounds interesting, why not?”

I don’t think there’s anything wrong with taking an off-the-wall class every now and then, if it is something you are passionate about. Just remember though, you’re there for a reason.  If you want to make a living studying the world around you through the lens of a pop star it might help to be one.

 

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

