Childish Things

C.S. Lewis once said, “When I was ten, I read fairy tales in secret and would have been ashamed if I had been found doing so. Now that I am fifty, I read them openly. When I became a man I put away childish things, including the fear of childishness and the desire to be very grown up.”

What are your childish things? What are the things you love to do but might be avoiding because of how it will make you look? Everyone has an image, a mask they put on so that no one will know who they really are. We all like people to think of us a certain way: strong, funny, clever, smart, mature, witty, free-spirited, fun loving, intellectual, and many other things. There is nothing wrong with trying to be those things, but you need to know who you really are.  

When you can let go of your need to impress others and stop suppressing who you are and what you love; you become free to pursue your passions and through them truly excel. How many of you are thinking about other people as you plan your future?

“I have to go to college, all my friends are going and if I don’t go, they’ll think I’m dumb.”

“I should probably study business or accounting; my parents would kill me if I told them I really wanted to study art.”

“All I can afford is a community college, but I don’t want anyone to know that!”

“I really want to make stuff and work in carpentry but all my college friends will think I’ve lost it.”

You need to let those things go. It’s freeing. Do what you love to do, as often as you can. If you love to read children’s books, read them. If you love to dance in your room, then dance. If you love to draw cartoons, then draw them every day. If you love to catch bugs then go and do that too! Don’t be ashamed of what you love. Innovation stems from passion, passion comes from love, and that is the only way you will do great things no matter what line of work you choose.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

