You Can’t Go Further

I was driving to the store the other day to return a Redbox movie and saw this sign on a massive billboard down town. “You Can’t Go Further Without A Degree.”

You Can't

I drove past it and thought to myself, “Wow. That is a really bold and really depressing statement.” I returned the movie and drove back the way I came, but this time I stopped. The billboard was in the parking lot of a fairly busy Little Caesar’s Pizza place and a video rental store. I got out of the car and stood their looking at the sign. I took my picture and thought of all those poor people who are trapped and can’t go further without a degree. Then I thought about all those poor people who have a degree and work at Starbucks. Then I smiled, got back in my car, and went home.

The really sad thing is that there are actually people that believe this sign. They believe that if only they could get a degree they could be successful. It doesn’t matter what the degree is. Somehow if I get that piece of paper, businesses will flock to me and throw job offers at my feet. I’ll be rich and famous and run faster and look better if only I had a degree.  The fact is; degrees aren’t holding you back.  You are the only thing that can hold you back. Don’t be a victim. You can be successful without a degree. You just have to have a plan and be intentionally about it. If your idea of success is lots of money; I have a lot of friends without degrees who are making way more than those with them.  If you think success is job security and freedom, I also have a lot of friends with degrees who have been waiting for years to find a job that actually uses their degree.

I’m not trying to discourage you from going to college at all. It is a very important part of a lot of people’s plans for success. What I’m trying to say is that it is not essential in everybody’s plan for success.

The point is, you need to have a plan and you need to know what success means to you.  The sign would be more accurate if it said “You Can’t Go Further Without A Plan.”

Remember:

Identify your passions, understand your talents, and create a profitable economic model that serves others. Do this and you can’t go wrong.

I would love to hear from you. What do you think about this sign? Is it true? Leave a comment and tell me what you think.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

